Home

Backstage with Sachin Patel: Actor in Play On!

Hello all!

Thanks for stopping by and letting me tell you a little about myself.

Since I was little, my dad has always called me a “character,” which is akin to being a class clown, but all the time. To put my antics and personality on the right path, my parents decided to sign me up for a little play called A Midsummers Night Dream. Now this was second grade, so, of course, the script was a children’s version of the original. After that, I never really pursued being in more plays; instead, I played sports. For most of my life, I’ve been surrounded by athletics; being a martial artist, playing football, rugby, and even rowing crew in college.

Having graduated from UC Davis in 2014, I went into this year with two goals: one, to gain admission into my law schools of choice; and two, to act in a play. I wanted an expressive outlet for my creative and charismatic personality and thought that a stage would be the ideal vessel. When I found out that there was a community theater close by, I jumped at the opportunity to audition. In my mind, auditioning seemed a daunting task, since I had never auditioned before, but somehow, it went well.

The process becoming a part of the play was quite simple, really; have a unique and awesome audition, do well at the callbacks, and hope for the best. Luckily, I chose to use my array of accents to my advantage. Choosing a monologue from Harry Potter was a given for me, but doing it well was the hard part. I walked onto stage for my audition, but it took me about three minutes for me to just calm my nerves enough so that I could say the monologue I had prepared. On the drive home, I was confident that there was no way that I would get the role, let alone a call back. Somehow, thankfully, I got both, and here I am today, writing an introductory blog entry about myself for the theater group!

Everyone that I have had the pleasure of meeting and working with has been incredible. They are all lovely people, who love to laugh and enjoy life. Working with the San Ramon Community Theater group thus far has made me realize that in the right environment, you can truly enjoy what you do, as I do now. I am incredibly grateful that they gave me this opportunity to become part of the SRCT family.

E.E. Cummings once said, “The most wasted of all days is one without laughter.” So if your day is lacking in a bit of laughter and fun, come and join us at the Front Row Theater to have your fill as you enjoy our comedy spectacular, Play On!

 

sachinby Sachin Patel

Leave a Reply

